Our Awards

The winners at this years Association of Irish Riding Clubs Lancelot Awards (left to right), Mo Chara’s Aoife Farrelly (Club Secretary of the Year), Kilotteran’s Kate O’Neill (Club Member of the Year), Sally Corscadden (Lancelot Award), Kilrainy’s Eileen Doran (Person of the Year) and Corrib’s Julia Gordon (Club of the Year).

The Association of Irish Riding Clubs encourages all clubs and regions to ensure that members are recognised for their commitment to the Association, and are nominated for awards where appropriate

The Association also encourages the nomination of members for external awards or recognition e.g. County & National Volunteer Awards, People of the Year Awards or other Community Awards.

There are three categories of awards presented within the Association of Irish Riding Clubs:

Club Excellence Award

club-excellence_logoThe Association of Irish Riding Clubs recognises the vital contribution affiliated clubs make in the development of the sport while providing outlets for participation and promoting equestrian sports at grass roots level.

The Club Excellence Award Scheme was introduced in 2014.

For further information on the Club Excellence Award Scheme consult document (D33/14):

Club Excellence Award (D33/14)

424.45 KB 65 downloads

To apply for a Club Excellence Award, you must submit the official application form (F26/14):

Back to Top 

Lancelot Awards

Previous Lancelot Award winners

The Lancelot Awards are presented annually by the Association of Irish Riding Clubs to recognise the sterling efforts of its members who regularly go beyond the call of duty in organising or helping at club, regional or national level.  The awards were introduced in 2005.

The awards were introduced in 2005.

Four categories of awards are presented annually:

  • Club of the Year
  • Club Secretary of the Year
  • Club Member of the Year
  • Person of the Year

Each winner receives a specially commissioned bronze horse head resembling the Association’s logo, “Lancelot.”

For further information on the Lancelot Awards, click here:

Back to Top 

Service Awards

Hilary MacHugh received one of the inaugural Service Awards from chairman Tony Ennis yesterday when she received a 15 years and over gold service medal for her service as Secretary of the AIRC South Leinster Region.
Hilary MacHugh received one of the inaugural Service Awards from chairman Tony Ennis.

The Service Awards recognise the satisfactory and continuous service of club and regional officers to the Association.

The awards were introduced in 2013. There are three levels of awards for continuous service including:

  • 5 Year Bronze Service Award
  • 10 Year Silver Service Award
  • 15 Year Gold Service Award

For further information on the Service Awards, click here on this link:

To apply for a Service Award, you must submit the official nomination from (F45/13):

Service Award Recipients

2016HelenO' ByrneWaterfordGold
2016HilaryMac HughHollybrookGold

Back to Top 

The Lancelot Award

2007MrQuentinDoran O'Reilly
2014Mr LeoPowell
2019MsEmilyMac Donagh

Club of the Year Award

2005Killegar Riding Club
2006Greenhills Riding Club
2007Carne Riding Club
2008Calliaghstown Riding Club
2009Carne Riding Club
2010Thomastown & District Riding Club
2011Tynagh Riding Club
2012Foxborough Riding Club
2013Border Counties Riding Club
2014Earl's Well Riding Club
2015Castle Carraig Riding Club
2016Donegal Gaeltacht Riding Club
2017Springmount Riding Club
2018Corrib Riding Club
2019Mosstown Riding Club

Club Secretary of the Year Award

2005Ger KellyThree Rocks Riding Club
2006JaneConwayBallinasloe Riding Club
2007LouiseSomersKilronan Riding Club
2008GwenBastianMoyglare Riding Club
2009GillianHennessyThomastown & District Riding Club
2010HilaryMacHughHollybrook Riding Club
2011ValerieLewisHillcrest Riding Club
2012MonicaKennyTonabrockey Riding Club
2013TraceyRooneyCarne Riding Club
2014NiamhRothwellTinahely Riding Club
2015MargaretCorryCastle Carraig Riding Club
2016JaneGaffneyBenbulben Riding Club
2017HelenO'ByrneWaterford Riding Club
2018AoifeFarrellyMo Chara Riding Club
2019MariaCarrickCheval Riding Club

Club Member of the Year Award

2005DermotBrislaneAnvil Riding Club
2006SeanRooneyGreenhills Riding Club
2007PatriciaWarrenDonegal Gaeltacht Riding Club
2008JacquelineMagennisLakelands Riding Club
2009CarolineBroadleyKillcarrick Riding Club
2010MaireCrosseClonshire Riding Club
2011JohnMc ArdleTynagh Riding Club
2012GillianHennessyThomastown & District Riding Club
2013ShellieMurtaghClonshire Riding Club
2014LawrenceSmythDonegal Gaeltacht Riding Club
2015AdrienneBoganCarne Riding Club
2016AngelaMc CannBrooke Lodge Riding Club
2017MandyHaydenTinahely Riding Club
2018KateO'NeillKilotteran Riding Club
2019MarieSmiddyLismore Riding Club

Person of the Year Award

2005EilisNicholFingal Riding Club
2006KevinMcGuinnessCopperfield Riding Club
2007MargieMcLooneCheval Riding Club
2008LawrenceSmythDonegal Gaeltacht Riding Club
2009LindaMooreMoglare Riding Club
2010MichaelO'ConnorGreenvalley Riding Club
2011HelenO'ByrneWaterford Riding Club
2012SeanDoranRussellstown Riding Club
2013PatriciaBuckleyCalliaghstown Riding Club
2014DanFoleyNon Member
2015CaoilinnDe BaireadCorrib Riding Club
2016MichaelRyanTynagh Riding Club
2017DoreenEganThree Counties Riding Club
2018EileenDoranKilrainy Riding Club
2019ChristineKeymerCarne Riding Club